PDA

View Full Version : New 7/25/13 update killed wifi



huckjam
07-25-2013, 07:38 PM
After the update there is no longer any wifi menu at all in the setting and the option to turn ethernet on and off is also gone. Also in the ouya launchers network menu the wifi networks are also just missing and pressing the y button takes you only to ethernet settings. Is this only me or did they forget to put wifi back in the update. I cant find a way to change the wifi settings at all throught the basic menu im gonna go ahead and see if i can do it through esfilemanger task/battery tool so ill report back when i get a chance. But could someone confirm this is only me or is this a widespread deal.

Edit: this is by design if the ethernet cable is plugged in it will disable wifi and vise versa. I really wish this would've been an option because it seems now we are limited on what we can use the wifi for for example a connection sharing system is no longer possible or if you wanted to use the wifi to direct connect to a device to send midi over wifi cant do it if you still want the internet connection. Hopefully this is just a quick fix and a much better solution will be implemented later.

masster
07-25-2013, 07:42 PM
It was the first thing I've checked after update and I have no wifi settings too. Not good.

rsa2000
07-25-2013, 07:45 PM
Still got wifi settings so maybe try shuttign down and restarting the console.

huckjam
07-25-2013, 07:50 PM
If you have the ethernet cable plugged in the wifi setting disappear if you unplug it the setting will come back. I think they did this to address the problems connecting to wifi when your already connect with a cable but that seams a little silly of a way to do it just let use turn the switch to off without it going back when you close the menu.

------------
I wonder why they decided to completely get rid of the menus dependent on what conection your using I was kinda under the impression that if i wanted to use this things as a wireless router i was free to now i have to chose between one of the other. This kinda seems like a setting that should be enabled by an option to handle it like this or be able to use both if you please.

Merged your posts. Use the edit button next time. Thank you.

masster
07-25-2013, 08:02 PM
Yeah, I figure it out. The truth is sometimes it caused a problem with internet connection when I pressed network menu accidentally and wifi turned on while I was on a cable.

huckjam
07-25-2013, 08:09 PM
Yes I was always fighting with it when i would choose ethernet and it would auto connect back to lan i finally made it forget the wifi key so it couldnt connect even if it wanted to and it had no choice to use ethernet. I just wish they would allow you to turn off wifi without it turning back on when you exited the menu that wouldve solved all the problems.

anthfett
07-26-2013, 04:41 AM
My ethernet is no longer working after the update. I turned off wifi with a widget and still no access to my NAS through XBMC. Does my ethernet have to have internet in order for the Ouya to recognize it, because I don't have internet through my router, it's just for my NAS for XBMC.

Sluup
07-26-2013, 04:56 AM
How does one turn on/off their wifi if the option is now gone? I prefer mine off all the time.

Jeremy Reilloc
07-27-2013, 08:25 PM
Wifi is off by default if you have the ethernet plugged in.

This is great for general use, but there are certain sideloaded apps that won't use ethernet! Oh well, I still think it's an improvement over all as having both ethernet and wifi on at all times caused problems.

It's funny, the update crashed my internet and I really freaked out until after 10 minutes of working with the OUYA I went on my computer and found out I had no internet...

Wolverine-_-_-
07-27-2013, 09:25 PM
How does one turn on/off their wifi if the option is now gone? I prefer mine off all the time.

I think a lot of people are failing to understand what has occurred to you and I and others.

With Ethernet disconnected and after forgetting all Wi-Fi networks, I still have no Wi-Fi on/off switch and no Ethernet menu at all. If I connect an Ethernet cable nothing happens, even with plugging it in while the OUYA is totally powered off.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

MX Woods3
07-28-2013, 05:45 AM
If you have ethernet running through your OUYA, the wifi shuts off, if you have wifi running through your OUYA, ethernet turns off. If you can't get wifi OR ethernet working set the console back to factory settings. You'll get your wifi or ethernet back but you'll have to login to your account and you'll have to redownload all you stuff back.

Wolverine-_-_-
07-28-2013, 06:17 AM
If you have ethernet running through your OUYA, the wifi shuts off, if you have wifi running through your OUYA, ethernet turns off. If you can't get wifi OR ethernet working set the console back to factory settings. You'll get your wifi or ethernet back but you'll have to login to your account and you'll have to redownload all you stuff back.

I know that is what should happen. Connecting Ethernet does nothing, Wi-Fi remains active.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

carlosrvj
08-16-2013, 05:32 PM
I am having the same problem.My ouya connects to the internet via Ethernet cable but when I unplug it thinking its going to find my wifi signal its says no wireless connection find.i go to the advance settings and it says turning on wifi and it stays like that for like almost and hour and doesn't change.I don't even have setting for my wifi.It just a blank setting screen with the return icon and the sync and the add plus icon.Its strange when I first tried my ouya and updated it it was working with my wifi now theres aboslutly nothing.I want this problem fixed I cant be using the Ethernet cable all the time.

Griffy
08-18-2013, 02:49 AM
Same or very similar issue here too. I use Wi-Fi but since the update I cannot connect to my Wi-Fi, nor detect any Wi-Fi networks at all!

Build number: 1.0.439_r1
Software version: 1.0.8

When I go into the Advanced Settings (from OUYA main screen, Manage > System > Advanced), the option for Wi-Fi has no on / off button and there's no longer an option for Ethernet. In addition, I cannot enter the Wi-Fi menu AT ALL. I click to go in and the sound effect is made, but I'm left on the Advanced Settings menu (when I should now be in the Wi-Fi settings menu). This is EXTREMELY CONCERNING.

I'm quite frustrated that the OUYA started off with poor Wi-Fi, and has now gone to NOTHING.

madmax2069
08-18-2013, 03:29 AM
Same or very similar issue here too. I use Wi-Fi but since the update I cannot connect to my Wi-Fi, nor detect any Wi-Fi networks at all!

Build number: 1.0.439_r1
Software version: 1.0.8

When I go into the Advanced Settings (from OUYA main screen, Manage > System > Advanced), the option for Wi-Fi has no on / off button and there's no longer an option for Ethernet. In addition, I cannot enter the Wi-Fi menu AT ALL. I click to go in and the sound effect is made, but I'm left on the Advanced Settings menu (when I should now be in the Wi-Fi settings menu). This is EXTREMELY CONCERNING.

I'm quite frustrated that the OUYA started off with poor Wi-Fi, and has now gone to NOTHING.

That's because a few updates ago removed those switches in advanced settings, you plug in a Ethernet cord it automatically shuts off wifi and enables Ethernet, unplug Ethernet shuts Ethernet off and enables wifi, you have to use network under manage to scan for a wifi ssid with Ethernet unplugged.

Griffy
08-18-2013, 05:04 AM
That's because a few updates ago removed those switches in advanced settings, you plug in a Ethernet cord it automatically shuts off wifi and enables Ethernet, unplug Ethernet shuts Ethernet off and enables wifi, you have to use network under manage to scan for a wifi ssid with Ethernet unplugged.

Tried that, doesn't work. At least for me. Quite literally just tried it now.

Edit: I better elaborate... I turned off the OUYA, turned off my wireless router, plugged in the Ethernet to the OUYA, then powered it up. No dice. Ethernet is good because prior I tested it with laptop and TV, totally fine. Wi-Fi is working now on the OUYA, but Ethernet is not. Wi-Fi also worked while Ethernet was plugged into the OUYA. But as soon as turn off my router, OUYA has no net access again.

I suspect my OUYA is stuck with Wi-Fi switched on and Ethernet switched off. And my main concern is that I no longer can access the menus to change this!

madmax2069
08-18-2013, 02:02 PM
Tried that, doesn't work. At least for me. Quite literally just tried it now.

Edit: I better elaborate... I turned off the OUYA, turned off my wireless router, plugged in the Ethernet to the OUYA, then powered it up. No dice. Ethernet is good because prior I tested it with laptop and TV, totally fine. Wi-Fi is working now on the OUYA, but Ethernet is not. Wi-Fi also worked while Ethernet was plugged into the OUYA. But as soon as turn off my router, OUYA has no net access again.

I suspect my OUYA is stuck with Wi-Fi switched on and Ethernet switched off. And my main concern is that I no longer can access the menus to change this!

Backup saves to a USB drive and factory reset.

WookieFan
09-04-2013, 10:51 PM
Tried that, doesn't work. At least for me. Quite literally just tried it now.

Edit: I better elaborate... I turned off the OUYA, turned off my wireless router, plugged in the Ethernet to the OUYA, then powered it up. No dice. Ethernet is good because prior I tested it with laptop and TV, totally fine. Wi-Fi is working now on the OUYA, but Ethernet is not. Wi-Fi also worked while Ethernet was plugged into the OUYA. But as soon as turn off my router, OUYA has no net access again.

I suspect my OUYA is stuck with Wi-Fi switched on and Ethernet switched off. And my main concern is that I no longer can access the menus to change this!

Any news on this? I am going to try the unplug and and see option. I am one of those who shut off the WiFi altogether and accepted several updates afterward. Now, no WiFi settings. Hopefully they will come back when I remove the ethernet cable. I'll check back in to let folks know the results. Would like to see WiFi back, but no biggie in my situation if it's gone for good.