Close
Advertise Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

OUYA - The Hardware Issues - Hackable, but Upgradable?

Guys, I know that the OUYA will be hackable, meaning it can be modded without voiding the warranty. However, will it be upgradable?

Android phones are ever changing. Every 2 years people get a new phone. Same goes for tablets. My questions is, will the OUYA console be upgradable, or will we eventually need to purchase an 2nd generation console?

I'm not too tech savvy so I was wondering if perhaps someone would have a better explanation.

Quote Originally Posted by AliAla View Post
    Guys, I know that the OUYA will be hackable, meaning it can be modded without voiding the warranty. However, will it be upgradable?

Android phones are ever changing. Every 2 years people get a new phone. Same goes for tablets. My questions is, will the OUYA console be upgradable, or will we eventually need to purchase an 2nd generation console?

I'm not too tech savvy so I was wondering if perhaps someone would have a better explanation.
    Depends on how quickly it expands as a platform, no one can give you an answer on that at this stage.

The hardware really isn't all the great. I don't think the selling point here is the hardware as much as what it can do by running android on you TV. It's not going to be able to handle games that run on Xbox 360 or PS3. I wish it were able to, but by looking at the specs it certainly won't.

Quote Originally Posted by Frankeve View Post
    The hardware really isn't all the great. I don't think the selling point here is the hardware as much as what it can do by running android on you TV. It's not going to be able to handle games that run on Xbox 360 or PS3. I wish it were able to, but by looking at the specs it certainly won't.