Close
Advertise Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Question about stock Android on Ouya

I'm new to this Ouya stuff, but am interested because I want to use stock android on my TV with the controller for easy and casual controls. It sounds much better than using one of those android sticks from shoddy chinese manufacturers that require a separate touchpad/keyboard.

However, I saw some reviews and all it showed was a simple menu with big letters and not much else. When the Ouya ships in June and I get one, can I easily access the regular Android launcher and download apps from the play store? Or is there a very easy way to just install stock android onto it? I know the Ouya will eventually get Netflix integration, but in the meantime it would be easier to just download the regular Android app? I'm basically just looking for Netflix and casual TV internet browsing. How well does the controller work with surfing and stuff? Or moving around in general?

The big question is whether stock android will work with the controller (whether you can navigate the menu's etc and also how easy it is to pair the controller). I don't know if anyone has tried yet.

It's not easy to install Google Play onto the OUYA because you have to install some extra service-type apps / auxiliary apps that Google Play needs to work correctly, but I'd say it is still easier than installing stock android then finding things don't work. Of course I've not actually tried it myself because installing Google Play on a non-Google approved device breaks the terms of service and is therefore technically illegal *wink*
    @JamesACoote
    Executive Star now available on OUYA Discover