PDA

View Full Version : PS3 BD Remote + XBMC



kaba
12-23-2013, 06:22 PM
Hey guys,

This is how I got my PS3 media remote (they are on clearance on Amazon for $10) to work with my OUYA set up. First off I would like to thank UmOuch for inspiring this (http://ouyaforum.com/showthread.php?3834 (http://ouyaforum.com/showthread.php?3834-How-To-Pair-The-PS3-Media-Remote-Control-To-Your-OUYA-(xbmc-volume-more)http://ouyaforum.com/showthread.php?3834-How-To-Pair-The-PS3-Media-Remote-Control-To-Your-OUYA-(xbmc-volume-more)))

I found a little bit of a simpler way to pair the remote, and to repair it if it loses connection (which happens if you press the AMP or TV buttons on the remote).

Here is my current set-up:
Stock OUYA
Auto Pilot set to boot into XBMC (the BD remote doesn't work in the OUYA Launcher)
Bluetooth Pairing App FOUND HERE (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.jpn.frontia.waka.Bluetooth) side-loaded.


Open the pairing app and press and hold "start + enter" on the PS3 BD remote
Click on the only button (search - it has a magnifying glass) and then click on the Remote (there should be a BT address visible for it)
A pop-up with the address and some Japanese text will show up. Click the only button you can click.
More Japanese text will show up ending in "! !" - you are done!
Exit the app and do a hard power off of the system (hold the power button and hit OK)
Turn the system back on, as well as the OUYA controller, go to manage and go to the advanced settings, you should see the BD remote there (make sure you have the remote on) as pair but inactive. Click on it
You should now be able to use the controllers D-PAD and return button. Use the OUYA controller to open XBMC and you will have full access to the most used buttons!
If you ever lose connection with the remote, simply cycle the power on your OUYA!


Hope this helps!

JohnDonovan
01-02-2014, 07:26 AM
This is excellent - does anyone have a direct d/l link for the pairing App as I don't have Play installed on the Ouya.

thecodemonkee
02-01-2014, 05:20 PM
Thanks Kaba. I was able to pair my PS3 BD remote.

For those who need the apk for the Bluetooth Pairing app, try using http://apps.evozi.com/apk-downloader/

Eldon.McGuinness
02-20-2014, 11:17 PM
So here is a question for those that are using this remote, can you not switch between controlling your TV, OUYA, etc.? I noticed the OP said it looses pairing if you press AMP, is that still the case or do you just need to press another button to get back the OUYA/TV functionality. This would be nice, but losing pairing is just a non-starter for me.

Jethro
02-21-2014, 06:27 PM
Eldon/anyone, I'd like to try this but I'm unable to get the .apk. If someone can give a direct link for the apk instead of an extractor, that would be great. I only have the remote for a few days before returning it for a 3in1 air,keyboard,media remote.

Eldon.McGuinness
02-21-2014, 10:48 PM
Here is a link to the APK [Link (https://www.dropbox.com/s/sjeoggsetessumb/com.jpn.frontia.waka.Bluetooth.apk)]

Jethro
02-22-2014, 12:22 AM
Thanks Eldon, I'll test after work(midnight).

Sent from my HTC601 using Tapatalk

Eldon, it works better than expected, but still buggy.
It does lose pairing when using the tv/amp power and the tv/amp device buttons. However, this is not an IR/Bluetooth conflict since the TV volume can be adjusted while navigating through OUYA, or XBMC.

The good news is that it will navigate just fine within the OUYA Launcher including Enter, so the OUYA controller does not have to be used as stated by OP. From the main ouya menu, you can enter the system menu by pressing the options button, and thereby put the ouya into sleep mode and consequently bring it out of sleep mode.

There is also more extensive mapping of the remote found here (http://www.xbmchub.com/forums/ouya-gaming-console/9431-%5Bhow-%5D-pair-ps3-media-remote-control-ouya-volume-control-xbmc-control.html) and here (http://ouyaforum.com/showthread.php?5966-XBMC-on-Ouya-OUYA-Inc&p=73286&viewfull=1#post73286).

I'm still planning on returning this remote in favor of a Flirc with my harmony 300.

imho, the best option is still a powered usb hub + flirc + f10 pro + HDD for storage.

Hope this helps

JohnDonovan
02-22-2014, 03:18 PM
Thanks for this I have it working now - an excellent way of recycling what would have been redundant kit! Thanks!

Just for the benefit of others , at this point:-

go to manage and go to the advanced settings, you should see the BD remote there (make sure you have the remote on) as pair but inactive. Click on it

The Ouya will say 'connecting' if you do nothing it will stop - if you press and hold enter on the BD remote at this point it will activate!

Cheers.

Jethro
02-22-2014, 06:10 PM
Thanks for this I have it working now - an excellent way of recycling what would have been redundant kit! Thanks!

Just for the benefit of others , at this point:-

go to manage and go to the advanced settings, you should see the BD remote there (make sure you have the remote on) as pair but inactive. Click on it

The Ouya will say 'connecting' if you do nothing it will stop - if you press and hold enter on the BD remote at this point it will activate!

Cheers.Good point John, and follow it up with a hard reboot.

Improve Bluetooth Functionality:

MANAGE > CONTROLLERS > SETTINGS > 'Always prioritize Bluetooth over Wi-Fi'

JohnDonovan
02-22-2014, 08:14 PM
Have you tried Koyings keymap ? Vendor_054c_Product_0306.kl

I'm going to give it a go tomorrow - looking for tips!

Jethro
02-22-2014, 09:35 PM
Yea I'm going to try it. New territory for me so should be interesting. Decided to keep this remote and also try gearhead 7500 BT keyboard.
Do you have id for new remote for Koying's file? His file is for the gen 1 remote.

Sent from my HTC601 using Tapatalk


Have you tried Koyings keymap ? Vendor_054c_Product_0306.kl

I'm going to give it a go tomorrow - looking for tips!You don't need it, just make sure you have the latest OUYA Update (https://www.ouya.tv/ouya-system-update-jackalope-feb-4-2014/) + SPMC v12.4.1 (http://ouyaforum.com/showthread.php?8220-SPMC-Koying). It is preconfigured for the PS3 Remote and works great. Add a bluetooth keyboard and your good to go.

Thanks to Koying, this is an awesome XBMC Media Player.

Manaurys
02-23-2014, 11:09 AM
What type of ps3 remote you need? Any link to buy

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Jethro
02-23-2014, 05:26 PM
What type of ps3 remote you need? Any link to buy

Sent from my Nexus 4 using TapatalkPS3 Gen1 (http://www.amazon.com/Sony-PlayStation-3-Blu-ray-Disc-Remote/dp/B000M17AVO/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1393176286&sr=8-3&keywords=ps3+remote) (Bluetooth Only) or PS3 Gen2 (http://www.amazon.com/Media-Blu-ray-Remote-Control-Playstation-3/dp/B0050SX9I2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393174829&sr=8-1&keywords=ps3+remote) (Bluetooth + IR) for controlling TV volume. You Can Not use the TV or Amp Power On/Off buttons, they UnPair the PS3 remote.

myst4ry
12-02-2014, 01:23 AM
PS3 Gen1 (http://www.amazon.com/Sony-PlayStation-3-Blu-ray-Disc-Remote/dp/B000M17AVO/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1393176286&sr=8-3&keywords=ps3+remote) (Bluetooth Only) or PS3 Gen2 (http://www.amazon.com/Media-Blu-ray-Remote-Control-Playstation-3/dp/B0050SX9I2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393174829&sr=8-1&keywords=ps3+remote) (Bluetooth + IR) for controlling TV volume. You Can Not use the TV or Amp Power On/Off buttons, they UnPair the PS3 remote.

Is there any way to make it so that it doesn't unpair? Can the buttons be destroyed so that they can't be clicked?
I'd like to make the remote family-friendly.
Thanks.

Eldon.McGuinness
12-02-2014, 02:19 AM
Assuming it is just a contact type pad connection on the inside of the controller then you could put plastic wrap over the contact and it SHOULD do the trick. This would require you to open up the controller though :/