PDA

View Full Version : Replacement fan for Ouya (help)

Stage
12-08-2013, 01:30 AM
I have been running XBMC on ouya however the fan is actually quite loud.
I really want to replace it with a much quieter one. I have done some research but from what I've seen people are soldering new fans in and this scares me a bit as i have no experience of modding hardware.

Does anyone know of a fan that can just fit in. No soldering, nothing complex.
Thank you very much.

barkas
12-08-2013, 10:31 AM
Noctua nf-a4x10

ARBEIT ANGST KONSUMTERROR

Stage
12-08-2013, 11:30 AM
Noctua nf-a4x10

I have looked into this and seen the video below on YouTube

http://youtu.be/rra0FwlHvBA

However what loses me is the picture that shows wires being cut. I'm very confused because I've never done anything like that before.

TheLion
12-08-2013, 12:44 PM
I used a mini kazi SY124010L. It comes with an adapter cable. I cut the end off the adapter cable and cut the end off the old fan and spliced the wires using a pair of wire strippers and twisted the wires together then folded them over then taped them tight, its called a western union splice and it works fine without solder. Its very easy, anyone can do it. I highly recommend this mod. My unit is barely audible now whereas before it was way too loud. This mini kazi only has 14 dba of sound output. The one above has around 20 something. The mini kazi is only 5 bucks or so on ebay. I highly recommend it.

Stage
12-08-2013, 01:34 PM