PDA

View Full Version : Darkdawn: Encounters - interested?

LeoCeballos
11-10-2013, 06:12 PM
Hello everyone!

My name is Leonardo Ceballos, and I'm an indie developer. I have recently launched my first solo project, Darkdawn: Encounters, to the Google Play market as an "early access" game. Its still in development, and will cost $1.99 when launched (its $0.99 now). Its a 3D capital spaceship combat game designed to be slick and fun on touchscreens. My intention was to release it on iOS, WP8 and Android when finished, and leave it at that.

However, two recent developments have left me considering an Ouya release. One, that the youtube 720p feed held up better than I thought on my 32inch TV, and two, that one of my testers convinced me to add a "cycle targets" button (which would be easy to replicate on a gamepad) in addition to the "tap to target" mechanic that was in place before. Both these things led me to think that it might be a pretty fun experience on TV as well as a small touchscreen. I've tested the game extensively on the Tegra-3 based Nexus 7 2012, and it even runs very smooth on a Tegra 2, so I'm expecting it so work similarly well on the Ouya (is this a valid assumption?!)

But I don't have an OUYA yet, and with the holidays coming up, I think I can only justify the purchase if I am sure I'm going to develop for it! And I can only justify that, if there is at lease some amount of interest.

So how about it, Ouya owners? Is this something you'd like to pick up for a buck or two? Its very much a passion project for me, and I'm planning on supporting it with serious expansions (not nickel and dime DLC; think more the B-Wing campaign for X-Wing or the Wing Commander expansion packs of old). You guys think I'd make my money back, at least?