PDA

View Full Version : Chip replacement?



Killswitch
09-12-2013, 04:54 PM
Has anyone tried replacing the Kingston 8GB chip?
They can be direct replaced up to 64GB Though those chips can run up to $111

Manaurys
09-12-2013, 05:02 PM
I don't know if it possible to desolder the chip?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4

timmytot666
09-12-2013, 05:06 PM
I'm sure its possible it all depends on someone who is willing to test it out xD Dunno how you would get an image on the new chip though.

Manaurys
09-12-2013, 05:10 PM
I'm sure its possible it all depends on someone who is willing to test it out xD Dunno how you would get an image on the new chip though.

Yes i was thinking how to put the ouya os back in

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4

JerTM
09-12-2013, 05:57 PM
Anyone have a chip laying around and the skill to do it, I have a spare ouya from launch. . .

timmytot666
09-12-2013, 05:59 PM
Jer just offered up a sacrifice. I could do the solder job but I don't wanna go hunting for a chip (would even try a 16gb and 32gb chip) and spend money.

Killswitch
09-12-2013, 07:57 PM
If we have a sacrifice then I might make the attempt...
Have to find one of these chips at a decent price and not half way around the work

JerTM
09-12-2013, 10:38 PM
What is the typical cost for a large chip?

Killswitch
09-12-2013, 10:41 PM
$111 for 64GB
Seems that most of the lower ones aren't in stock in most places.

JerTM
09-13-2013, 12:05 AM
It may be a little while before I can get one, but when I get one I am going all out. Go big or go home lol

RiotingSpectre
09-13-2013, 12:08 AM
It may be a little while before I can get one, but if I am going to , I am going all out. Go big or go home lol

Why stop there? I would go here (http://forums.benheck.com/) to get the best advice of (anything) console modifying. Hell, maybe you can get the legend himself to take a crack at it just so long as you supply him with the necessary things :)

Killswitch
09-13-2013, 12:23 AM
It may be a little while before I can get one, but if I am going to , I am going all out. Go big or go home lol

It takes reballing skills and expensive tools. You can probably do it without some of the tools but that chip needs to be reballed and not just a simple solder. Then the OS and all that...anyone who can reball a 360 is your best bet if you go to someone.

If storage was on the horizon I'd say wait but as you know, we just don't know.

JerTM
09-13-2013, 03:43 PM
I am certainly not doing it myself, just going to get the necessary parts and pay someone lol

Wraith_Vague
09-13-2013, 04:57 PM
http://www.ifans.com/forums/threads/how-to-upgrade-nexus-4-storage-is-it-possible.395926/
Not really going to help much, but the comments share some of my concerns. You would need to be sure the bootloader is separate from the flash chip. If so, its possible replacing the chip could work. However the new chip wont be partitioned for the kernel image, boot image, recovery image, system image, etc. These are all separate partitions on the chip. The recovery partition is what allows you to flash other roms or updates, assuming you have CWM replacing the stock recovery. Maybe it would be possible to try to re-partition and flash the new chip externally before soldering in. I'm not really sure without more research.

JerTM
09-13-2013, 05:14 PM
Quite honestly, you were the first person to come to mind when it came to the software portion of it lol