PDA

View Full Version : Overscan fix (root required)



jbrodack
08-14-2013, 07:17 PM
I know the mod used for this has been mentioned before but I thought I'd highlight this one specific fix for a problem that has bothered many Ouya users and give a small guide for it. I don't know when Ouya will fix this in firmware despite giving instructions to manually fixing this in the past.

Start here: root (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2387507)
Just download apk and install using a file explorer. Easiest way to root.

Next installed xposed framework: Xposed framework (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2359390)
"For the framework:
Download XposedInstaller.apk and install it
Launch the Xposed Installer and click on "Install/Update"
Reboot
Done!"

Finally install mod collection for Ouya: Mod collection for Ouya (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2359390)
You install it as you do any apk then enable it. From the xposed framework post:

"For any modifications/modules you want to install:
Download <module>.apk and install it
Launch the Xposed Installer and go to the "Modules" tab (you will also get there if you click on the notification warning you that the module is not enabled yet)
Enable the module by checking the checkbox (edit: this may require touchpad)
Reboot
Done!"

You have to enable the overscan fix within the mod collection module and I think you may have to reboot again. I was able to get an almost perfect overscan fix using the default value. Noticed a huge difference in nimble quest where much of the hud was hidden before.

XanXic
08-15-2013, 04:52 AM
I couldn't get this one to work for me. No matter what value I adjusted the settings by there was no noticable shrinking :/ The swapping to 720p worked in that it output to 720 but I still had some overscan.

jbrodack
08-15-2013, 06:21 PM
Are you sure the overscan fix is set to "on"? I set it to on and left at it default value and it made a huge difference. If it's on and still not making a difference I would check your tv settings. Whenever Ouya officially get around to fixing overscan I would imagine it would be a more user friendly version of this fix.

Here are manual commands for the fix:


adb shell setprop persist.sys.hdmi.overscan 1
adb shell setprop persist.sys.hdmi.overscan.val [0.0 - 0.2]
or sometimes the automatic mode works as well:
adb shell setprop persist.sys.hdmi.overscan auto

Failrunner
08-17-2013, 01:20 AM
Sweet thanks this worked great!

Cave Four
08-17-2013, 01:54 AM
This was one of my main reasons for rooting, unfortunately it didn't ever work for me.

Failrunner
08-17-2013, 09:15 PM
In order to prove this working I have a video I recorded which now shows padding around the game where as before my vids were full screen. This game was suffering from overscan(shame on you Sega).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IjL4Dcrbc_4

jbrodack
08-17-2013, 10:44 PM
I'm glad it helped someone at least. Worked great for me so I wanted to share it.

Failrunner
08-17-2013, 10:47 PM
I'm glad it helped someone at least. Worked great for me so I wanted to share it.

It worked great for me and also got the play store back and working. Thanks!

Darkdisorder78
08-17-2013, 11:36 PM
Yep It works. I got Sonic 4 episode II and Modern Combat 4 working. I can finally hit the back button on Modern Combat : )

agoe1179
08-18-2013, 12:23 AM
Worked like a charm

stokedboss
08-20-2013, 11:51 PM
Just used this and worked great for me. Thanks!!

capzfelix
09-12-2013, 08:46 AM
Did anyone noticed the screen text and graphics distorted a bit after enable the overscan fix?