PDA

View Full Version : Replacing the power plug on the OUYA?

Murka
07-07-2013, 09:03 AM
Hey guys,
I'm getting an American OUYA, and I want to replace the power plug to a local compatible one instead of using an adapter...
Being a scientist, I'm a bit ashamed to say I haven't ever worked with home appliances.
I've built my own computer from parts, which I am very proud of (Hey, connecting the motherboard wasn't THAT easy! :P) but nothing except that.
I need two things:

1) I couldn't find info about the actual power cable of the product. How does it connect, does it have a ac/dc converter? Does it have a grounding? Anything else I need to know?
2) Is there a nice and easy step-by-step guide on how to replace the plug? I know I need to cut the old one, split the bare cable inside and screw them into the new plug, but I'd rather have a idiotproof guide to make sure I don't damage anything.

Also, I've found "Sideways" empty plugs, but I couldn't find "Straight" ones for some reason...is there some kind of terminology to that, to help me search for the right ones?

Thanks in advance,
Mark

XxAnthxX
07-07-2013, 10:23 AM
Just buy an adapter with the correct voltage, ampage and polarity.

It will only cost you washers from fleabay.

Get the info from the one supplied with the Ouya.

Tbh a universal mains adapter is probably the easiest method....after the plug in adapter you don't want.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

miketrike
07-07-2013, 03:19 PM
What country are you in? You can probably just get a plug adapter for a few dollars.

Example (US to EU adapter):
http://www.rawrgv.com/images/2013/07/07/USA-US-to-EU-Euro-Plug-Converter-Travel-Charger-Adapter-socket.jpg

XanXic
07-07-2013, 03:23 PM
He said specifically he didn't want to get an adapter...

Murka
07-07-2013, 03:28 PM