PDA

View Full Version : WIP: mini NES case

skylargray
05-26-2013, 12:03 PM
Hey everyone.

I started design & engineering work on a miniature NES-style case earlier today. Now I just want to gauge interest and ask for some feedback.
Even with it's small size, this will be expensive to 3D print. I am considering a Kickstarter to pay for tooling and make this a reality at an affordable price...it just depends upon how much interest there is.

The outer and critical dimensions are all exactly half the size of a normal NES, so the proportions are completely true to the original. I used a nice, calibrated digital caliper to measure all the dimensions of my NES, then I modeled the parts in SolidWorks. I'm a design engineer for consumer electronics by trade, so this process is routine for me. I kept all the wall thicknesses and gaps the same as the original, so the internals have not been scaled down, per se...just re-configured for manufacturability. I also kept the vents on the top the same dimensions as the full-size NES instead of scaling those; otherwise, the grooves would be too thin to tool.

I do not have an OUYA yet—I can only go so far without being able to measure the board in detail.
Still, the top half is completely engineered and ready for tooling.
Can't finish the bottom until I have an OUYA and have made decisions on orientation, peripherals, etc. I want to eventually put 2 USB ports where the controller ports would normally be.

http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i222/skylargray/mini%20NES/miniNES-01_zps16e301cd.jpg (http://s73.photobucket.com/user/skylargray/media/mini%20NES/miniNES-01_zps16e301cd.jpg.html)

http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i222/skylargray/mini%20NES/miniNES-02_zps81de4ae4.jpg (http://s73.photobucket.com/user/skylargray/media/mini%20NES/miniNES-02_zps81de4ae4.jpg.html)