PDA

View Full Version : Want to drop my Ouya into an old N64

NitrousYA
04-09-2013, 05:51 PM
So I am going to drop my ouya into an old n64 shell. I want to include a hdd, powered usb hub and n64 to usb adapters so the front ports work (confirmed working by Mupen64+ dev, Paul). I am very new to mods but don't have a problem with a soldering iron. I'm going through compiling the system in my head and I can't get past the power. I will have AC adapters for the ouya, hub and hdd. Can someone point me in the right direction for a tutorial on how to consolidate these into one outgoing power cable? Thanks!

d_brennen
04-09-2013, 06:58 PM
What voltages do your various parts require? Are you happy to knock up a simple circuit on a mini breadboard/perf board? I see you have an iron so I assume so. Should be easy enough to cobble together a little circuit with voltage regulators. You might need a new AC adaptor with a higher voltage/amperage

I am more than willing to lend suggestions as I am going to be doing the same myself :)

e: not with an N64 though :D

NitrousYA
04-09-2013, 11:57 PM
Thanks brennen,

Not sure on voltages, the 2.5 hdd should be 5v right? No idea on the Ouya and the hub hasn't arrived yet. I can part together a breadboard but I would need a diagram and parts list. I'm glad to hear you're taking on a similar task, I'll be sure to follow your posts :D

d_brennen
04-10-2013, 12:43 AM
If the hard drive is 2.5" it is more than likely powered by a single USB cable, which is also the data cable :p The hub will probably be between 7 and 12v, the Ouya 12v iirc. TBH I don't know what spec power adaptor comes with the Ouya retail or what the load consumption of the Ouya is. I doubt I'll be getting my Ouya for quite a while yet either :(

If the PSU that comes with the Ouya is just above what is required for the console + 1 x 500mA USB device, we'll need new adaptors or risk a melt down of the supplied piece...

Where abouts are you in the world NitrousYA?